A Fennec Fox Named Jeremiah

Jeremiah Fox

When my husband said jokingly, after watching this video, he wanted a fennec fox for his birthday, I laughed, but made a mental note to find him something cute when the time came. In my discreet online search later on, I found some nice stuff, but nothing that felt exactly right.
I knew what I had to do. I sat down and started the work on his fennec stuffed doll. This took some time, and as it was a surprise I couldn’t work on it when Idan was home. From time to time he would jokingly ask if it was true that I was getting him a fennec fox for his birthday, and I would say stuff about laws against raising wild animals in a private residence and so on. On one of these occasions I casually asked Idan how would he name his fox if he had one, and he replied immediately and without hesitation “Jeremiah”.
I created a pattern, loosely based on the teddy pattern I already had, completely changing the ears, nose and tail.
I recently threw out a big bunch of unused fabrics due to lack of space in my house, so when I didn’t find a suitable fabric for the fennec, I really didn’t want to go out and buy what I already threw out. I settled for a bright yellow fabric I had lying around, but gave it a little extra flair by printing on it in black and white fur pattern I made.

The eyes are also custom made, as I wasn’t satisfied with the snap-on ones I got.

For the finishing touch I went to the pet shop and got a small collar, and a cute heart shaped dog tag that I had engraved with “Idan Mazal Tov” on one side, and on the other, “Jeremiah” ♥.

Jeremiah Fox DrinksJeremiah Fox and Crane

Leave a Reply

